bbc radiophonic workshop 21 vinyl lp
01 bbc radiophonic workshop 21 vinyl lp
bbc radiophonic workshop 21 vinyl lp
01 bbc radiophonic workshop 21 vinyl lp


New Condition


Limited edition 1st press of 1000 – pressed on lilac vinyl, of the 1979 release commemorating the best of 21 years of the weirdness that was the Radiophonic Workshop


In 1958 the BBC Radiophonic Workshop opened with the aim to enhance in the main, drama output on the Third Programme (now Radio 3) following the development of new electronic music techniques emanating from Europe. Their work expanded across the BBC to take in TV drama (especially sci-fi), schools programmes and themes. The latter being their most celebrated and well known work, Delia Derbyshire’s treatment of Ron Grainer’s theme for Doctor Who. This collection, originally released by BBC Records in 1979 to celebrate 21 years of the workshop appears for the first time in its full original form on CD. From The Goons (Bloodnocks Stomach) to the Interval Signal to Doctor Who and Great Zoos Of The World this is a fascinating chronicle of some of the most innovative music ever made. These ground-breaking compositions providing a major influence on music from The Beatles and Pink Floyd and onwards into the contemporary world of Aphex Twin, Orbital and The Chemical Brothers

  • A01
    Quatermass And The Pit0:37
  • A02
    Bloodnock's Stomach0:10
  • A03
  • A04
    Science And Industry0:27
  • A05
    The Artist Speaks1:27
  • A06
    The Splendour That Was Rome0:30
  • A07
    Interval Signal1:38
  • A08
    Phra The Phoenician0:50
  • A09
    Stick Up0:49
  • A10
    Time Beat0:30
  • A11
    Ideal Home Exhibition1:03
  • A12
    Time On Our Hands1:10
  • A13
    Arabic Science And Industry0:22
  • A14
    The Chem Lab Mystery0:50
  • A15
    Know Your Car0:57
  • A16
    Dr. Who1:30
  • A17
  • A18
  • A19
    Hardluck Hall0:32
  • A20
    Talk Out0:25
  • A21
    Science And Health ("Mike's Choice")0:55
  • A22
    Secrets Of The Chasm1:07
  • A23
    Westminster At Work0:26
  • A24
    A New View Of Politics0:39
  • A25
    Environmental Studies0:29
  • A26
  • A27
    Great Zoos Of The World0:34
  • A28
    Minds Of Evil0:42
  • B01
  • B02
    Broken Biscuit Club0:38
  • B03
    The Plunderers1:14
  • B04
    Mysterioso ("Blake's Seven")1:08
  • B05
    Greenwich Chorus2:17
  • B06
    Hurdy Gurdy1:29
  • B07
    Martian March Past0:30
  • B08
    A Whisper From Space2:11
  • B09
  • B10
  • B11
    BBC-2 Serial0:45
  • B12
  • B13
  • B14
    The Secret War0:52
  • B15
    Thomas The Rhymer1:15
  • B16
  • B17
    For Love Or Money1:08