the seeds a full spoon of seedy blues

A Full Spoon Of Seedy Blues

New Condition


Ultra rare Sealed new copy from 1982!!!

A Full Spoon of Seedy Blues is the fourth album by the American garage rock band, the Seeds, credited to the Sky Saxon Blues Band, and released on GNP Crescendo in November 1967 (see 1967 in music). The album saw the group take a completely different and controversial direction from the psychedelia featured on their previous effort, Future, towards a style rooted in blues. However, the results of the venture were ill-received, both commercially and within their loyal fanbase.


Recording sessions actually began while the Seeds were completing their second album, A Web of Sound, but a release was postponed as the group was still enjoying commercial success from their debut album, which was issued in April 1966. A Full Spoon of Seedy Blues saw members of Muddy Waters’ band, which included harmonica player George “Harmonica” Smith, saxophonist James Wells Gordon, and guitarists Luther Johnson and Mark Arnold. Additionally, Johnson contributed the two compositions, “Pretty Girl” and “One More Time Blues”, and a cover version of the Waters-penned “Plain Spoken”.[1] Though the album was credited to the Sky Saxon Blues Band, there were no lineup changes from the personnel on their first three albums. The Seeds incidentally removed themselves from their hard-edge take on garage rock and psychedelia, replacing it with a relaxed blues sound. To that effect, A Full Spoon of Seedy Blues was the first and only Seeds album to not include a rendition of the guitar riff found in the group’s hit song, “Pushin’ Too Hard”.[2]

  • A01
    Pretty Girl1:58
  • A02
    Moth And The Flame3:47
  • A03
    I'll Help You (Carry Your Money To The Bank)3:27
  • A04
    Cry Wolf6:04
  • A05
    Plain Spoken2:52
  • B01
    The Gardener4:57
  • B02
    One More Time Blues2:25
  • B03
    Creepin' About2:43
  • B04
    Buzzin' Around3:43