d rothon nightscapes vinyl lp
01 d rothon nightscapes vinyl lp
d rothon nightscapes vinyl lp
01 d rothon nightscapes vinyl lp


New Condition


*** Rare 1st Press***

Limited edition of 500 hand numbered Dusk Blue vinyl with download code.
Nightscapes recalls the feelings that are triggered and heightened by the dark hours. Recurring dreams, hypnagogic states, and half-sleep visions. The childhood sense of anticipation for the future that strikes in the middle of the night. The bittersweet feeling of waking up from a dream that has transported you back in time…


David Rothon is a musician from south London who has been involved in a variety of musical activities over the years, from garage bands to experimental spoken-word projects. These include a collaboration with Ian Masters (Pale Saints) as Sore & Steal and, more recently, Cloudier Skies with performer/chanteuse Claudia Barton, which was championed by Radio 3’sLate Junction.

David conjures up the hours between dusk and dawn by deploying a variety of instruments including pedal steel guitar, Mellotron, Omnichord, strings and cor anglais, as well as experimenting with unusual chord changes and voicings. Patching instruments through unexpected effects pedals, and running tracks out to cassette tape and back again, help bring an otherworldly ambience to the record. Parts of the album were semi-improvised, with melody lines developing from take to take, while field recordings and happy accidents led to serendipitous results.

Nightscapes takes you on a nocturnal journey – whether into your emotions and memories, or the sleeping world outside.

Track List

Number Title
01 The Midnight Bell / I Have Been Here Before
02 … And Breathe
03 Waldeinsamkeit
04 The Bus That Never Came, The Train That Never Left
05 Lonesome Depot
06 The Years Fall Away
07 In These Quiet Streets
08 Straight On till Morning
09 Unwoken City
10 Mello Toning